Lighting before going live

I recently performed my first OF live, and while it went well, I felt that the lighting was a huge letdown. Since it’s nighttime here, I tried to reduce the strong overhead lighting by using a ring light and a variety of lamps, but the quality was severely compromised.

I’m really careful about using natural night light for my photographs and films, thus I never use artificial light for them. Does anyone have any advice or recommendations for nighttime illumination, please? I used my laptop, a MacBook Air 2020 edition, but maybe I should try using my phone instead—I have an iPhone 15, which has a superior camera.

I would love any advice that wouldn’t make me appear to be using an iPhone

I’ve found that Daytime Lives are generally beneficial, so give it a shot sometime. For my nighttime livestreams, I use Lumecube tube lights and its cordless ringlight.

1 Like

Hi there! I work as a professional photographer and filmmaker. Instead than using strong, direct light, I would use gentle, diffused light sources. To soften the light and prevent ugly shades, use lampshades or bounce the light off walls or ceilings. Try not to use overhead illumination. I would purchase soft globe floor lamps to assist diffuse the light in a tiny space. Alternatively, if you have more space, I would purchase a soft box lantern and mount it on a lightstand using a professional light. The soft lighting will fill the entire space thanks to a soft box lantern.
You can also slant your main light at a 45-degree angle, a little to the side. Direct front illumination is not as flattering as this. For this, a ring light can be used.
To equalize the shadows, use a secondary fill light on the other side. A brighter computer screen or a smaller bulb can also be useful. The fill should have less light than your main source.